Provides time-based regulation operators like Debounce and Throttle. 100% based on Swift concurrency.

What's New



Adds static extensions to Task to create regulators.


Regulate is a lightweight library that brings the following time-based regulation operations for things that can emit values over times (and are not using reactive programming or AsyncSequence).

  • Debounce (Outputs elements only after a specified time interval elapses between events)
  • Throttle (Outputs either the most-recent or first element pushed by a producer in the specified time interval)

Regulate is entirely backed by Swift concurrency and limits the number of created Tasks to the minimum.

let regulator = Task.debounce(dueTime: .milliseconds(200)) { (value: Int) in

// the created `regulator` can be used across `Tasks` and each call to `regulator.push(x)`
// will feed the regulation system

// the execution of the provided closure will be debounced and executed 200ms after the last call to `push(x)`

Regulate also provides SwiftUI helpers to regulate buttons and bindings out of the box. You can give a look at the Sample app.

For a Button, it is as simple as:

Button {
  print("I've been hit (throttled)!")
} label: {
  Text("Hit me")
.throttle(dueTime: .seconds(1))

For a Binding, there is a tiny bit of extra work:

@State private var text = ""
@StateObject private var debouncer = Debouncer<String>(dueTime: .seconds(1))
  text: self
    .perform(regulator: debouncer) { text in
      print("regulated text \(text)") // you can perform any side effect here!
) {


Demo Application

Adding Regulate as a Dependency

To use the Regulate library in a SwiftPM project, add the following line to the dependencies in your Package.swift file:

.package(url: ""),

Include "Regulate" as a dependency for your executable target:

.target(name: "<target>", dependencies: ["Regulate"]),

Finally, add import Regulate to your source code.


  • Swift Tools 5.5.0
View More Packages from this Author


  • None
Last updated: Fri Feb 23 2024 22:51:59 GMT-1000 (Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time)